top of page

Make Your School Go Green: Part 1

First things first: talk to your principal. Send them a letter, email, or talk to him/her in person. When I started my GGP, Going Green Project, I emailed him. Here's what I said. This is a good example, so plan around this.

Dear Principal Minor,

I have just read a book about keeping a green school. They had many ideas for a green schools. I have been thinking about this, and thought about these ideas for our school. When school starts, of course. There are many ideas. Some ideas are:

  • Have bird houses. This one may sound interesting, but the reason behind it is for the nice homes for the birds. It is a very green. I shall supply with all the items. I have found how to make some online, using a recycled bottle. We could ask kids to donate some bottles. It must be the two letter kind. The supplies are: Get your materials. Get one 1 liter (0.3 US gal) and one 2 liter (0.5 US gal) bottles of soda. These should be bottles with straight bottom sections, rather than curved ones. Then, get at least 3' of thick wire, at least 2mm gauge. You will also want sharp scissors, a nail and hammer, and paint.

  • What is the kitchen situation like? Do we compost? If we don’t, we should. We should be using reusable forks and spoons.

  • Remind students to know what goes in the recycling, garbage, etc.

  • Use as less heat and a/c as possible.

  • Remind students to bring a lunch box or reusable bag and containers, instead of a paper bag and ziplock bags.

  • Remind teachers to close windows when the a/c is on.

Thanks for reading, and contact me, so we can talk.

-Mia

Hfriends. I will share it with you if you would like. Please email me, and excuse me for emailing you with my school account.

Thanks,

Mia Lange


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page